Attachments by Rainbow Rowell – Book Review

So I have read at least 5 books in the last month or so. Five books! In a month! I don’t think I have done that in a very long time, if I have ever done it before. Mostly because I never had money to buy five books in a month. Also because my mom would never let me buy these many books in one go because ‘tumhari ankhen kharab hojayengee!’ (Translation: You’ll ruin your eyes!).

But now! I am seriously amazed at myself. Five books! And I know that some book snobs don’t consider reading e-books actually reading books (I used to be one of them) but whatever. I still can’t afford to buy books every single month and even if I could, I would rather spend it on a pair of shoes because you can read books online but you can’t wear e-shoes! Also, you can’t be seen reading an actual, physical book in an office full of people when you are supposed to be working. Anyhoo. Moving on to the book!

The book that I finished reading last night is Attachments by Rainbow Rowell. If you know Rainbow Rowell, you must know that she writes YA books. So I don’t know what a grown ass woman like me is doing reading these books but man do I love them! So far, I have read Eleanor and Park (Loved it!), Landline (ugh!) and Attachments! *drooling all over the book again*

(Edit: I was reading about Rainbow Rowell the other day and it turns out that Attachments is supposed to be a book for adults, not a YA book. It didn’t seem like that to me, though. Books about adults have never been so much fun for me.)

I don’t know what it was about Attachments because it is somewhat a typical book with a boy and a girl and mommy issues and daddy issues and the figuring-out-what-I-want-to-do-with-my-life issues and all the general stuff that comes with it. I guess I could relate to the protagonist a lot and that’s what made it stand out for me. Because while it was no doubt a typical book, it describes in very accurate detail what introverts above the age of 25 go through when they don’t know what they want from life and they don’t have many friends or people to talk to and everything just seems like a mess and how all you want to do is to shut it all out and so you put yourself on auto-pilot and try to let it all go and just want the chaos in your mind to subside! But you can’t because you care too much when you don’t want to and don’t believe in wasting away the precious life you have been blessed with, no matter how shitty it gets on a daily basis.

So that’s what made me write this review. I don’t care if you read it or not (actually I do. Read it please!). I hope you do but it’s okay if you don’t want to. Also, don’t read it if you want to read the book and enjoy it. It will contain many spoilers. Probably.

The book starts with two friends emailing each other while they are at work (it’s an old book, written when emailing friends was a thing) about the usual lame stuff that friends tend to talk about. Next, we are introduced to the guy who is responsible for monitoring emails in the same office because the senior management is scared about the horrors that internet will unleash over them or whatever (the book is set in 1999 so I can imagine). Anyhow, this IT guy, Lincoln, is the protagonist who reads the emails flagged for a lot of words and phrases I can’t write here because I don’t actually know them because they don’t even mention them in the book. So you can imagine how filthy they must be.

While he hates his job because he doesn’t have much to do and what he has to do is super creepy (reading other people’s emails and sending them a warning if they break the rules), he still gets into the habit of reading the two friends’ emails we are introduced to in the start. We get to read those emails too and you understand a little why Lincoln keeps on reading those emails even though he constantly feels guilty over the unethicality of it all. They are funny and relatable and sometimes they talk about things that matter, for example the pros and cons of having a baby!

Lincoln starts to fall for one of the friends, Beth. She is the one who is not trying to have a baby so you don’t have to worry about how twisted of a book it is. She is, however, in a very weird relationship with a weirder but handsome musician, the handsomeness somewhat cancelling out the weirdness for Beth at least (why else would she stay with him?!). Throughout the story, we get to see how Lincoln struggles with jealousy, living in his parents’ house, loneliness, boredom and constant jibes from his older sister about how he is wasting away his life. We also get a detailed glimpse into Lincoln’s past and the only relationship he has ever been in with a girl who I didn’t like from the start. But Lincoln loves her and although the relationship ended years ago, it seems like he still can’t get over her (see, he IS very relatable).

The story progresses nicely throughout. The chapters were very short and there were no random details about the clothes Beth or Lincoln or Sam wears or the decor of the rooms (I hate these kind of details and they always make the story draggy for me). I wasn’t bored for a single minute and finished the book in 11 hours, I think (because I was working and reading the book simultaneously, ugh). By the end of the book, Lincoln’s life starts to make some sense and he starts to feel less shitty about himself to some extent. I won’t tell you what happens with him and Beth because it’s too sweet and you should really read that part yourself.

The thing is, now that I have done my own version of a review about this book, it doesn’t seem like a very readable book. Maybe it isn’t. I don’t know. But for me, it was very good. I know I will keep thinking about it for weeks, if not months. I guess it’s because all of us want our lives to make sense and Lincoln’s life started to make sense and it was very reassuring to me that no matter how lost you are at this point in your life, a day will come when everything will be okay. Better than okay, infact. And that’s why I loved the book. I hope you do too.

Book Sheetometer: Gooooooood!

Leave a Reply

